Volunteer Opportunities

 

Volunteer with Meals on WheelsWant to be a volunteer? We have many ways for you to get involved!

On-going Volunteering

Volunteers needed to Drive for J-Meals (Age: 18+)

  • Mon-Thurs pick-up meals at the J 10:00 AM-11:30 AM; weekly commitment: 1-1.5 hrs
  • Contact Kate Daniel: kdaniel@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8177.

Volunteer at the J with J-Meals (Age: 14+)

  • Bag food items in pantry Mon-Friday 9:00 AM-3:00 PM; every other week commitment: 1 hr
  • Contact Kate Daniel: kdaniel@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8177.

Office Helper (Age: 18+)

  • File, make client calls, etc. for J-Meals; Contact Kate Daniel: kdaniel@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8177
  • Database management (excel), create flyers, computer program based work for Mishpacha & Me. Contact Shayna Finn: sfinn@erjcchouston.org or 832.408.3519.
  • Mon-Friday 9:00 AM-3:00 PM; Weekly hours vary

RSVP (Retired and Senior Volunteer Program) (Age: 55+)

  • Long-term volunteer opportunities throughout the Greater Houston area. Contact Walt McFadden: wmcfadden@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8157.

Volunteer with Senior Companions Program (Age: 55+)

  • Help homebound seniors. Opportunity to earn tax-free stipend and benefits if low-income person with monthly income $1,900 or less. Weekly commitment: 20 hrs; Contact Marilyn Vargiu at mvargiu@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8183.

Volunteer with Special Needs Youth on Sundays - Sport Stars Program (Age: 15+)

  • No sports skills needed, just patience and willingness to help. Weekly commitment:1-2 hrs; Contact Matthew First at mfirst@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8182. 
  • Through May 14 | Basketball & Soccer | 4:00 PM-6:00 PM | Weekly or one-time: 1 hr

Done in a Day Volunteering

Theater & Speaker Related (Age: 18+)

Ushers, greeters & ticket takers needed for theater performances and speaker events

  • Dance Month (commitment: 3-4 hours):
    • Feb 11 | Excerpts from And Still You Must Swing / Going the Miles | 8:00 PM

  • Houston Jewish Film Festival | Feb 27–March 19 (commitment: 3-4 hours)

    • Feb 27 | 7:30 PM Fever At Dawn Sneak Preview Night
  • Women’s Month | March 1–26 (commitment: 6:45 PM–9:00 PM)
    • Contact Morgan Steinberg: msteinberg@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8170
    • March 1 | Perl: Jewish Indie Rock Band
    • March 23 | Merfish | Author Talk: Kate Siegel and Kim Friedman: Mother, Can you Not?
    • March 26 | Author Talk: Lisa F. Smith | Girl Walks Out of a Bar

  • YiddishFest Events (commitment: 1 hour):
    • Contact Samantha Safran at ssafran@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8163
    • Feb 18 |  MUSIC | Soul to Soul: Yiddish and African-American Music | 8:15 PM
    • Feb 20 | FILM! His Wife's Lover (Zayn Vaybs Lubovnik) I 7:00 PM—8:00 PM
    • Feb 23 | THOUGHT! Dr. Itzik Gottesman: What's Jewish (and Yiddish) About the Evil Eye? | 7:00 PM—8:00 PM
    • Feb 25 | SHTIK! An Evening with YidLife Crisis | 7:15 PM—8:15 PM

Mishpacha and Me (Age: 15+) 

  • Help with event check-in and projects, etc.
  • Contact Shayna Finn: sfinn@erjcchouston.org or 832.408.3519
  • Feb. 12 | Museum of Natural Science | 10:00 AM; 2 hr commitment

JCC Golf Tournament in Cypress (Age: 18+)

  • Volunteers to serve hole-watchers on “hole-in-one” holes for prize money (2 people per hole to serve as witnesses)
  • Contact Melissa Gordon at mgordon@erjcchouston.org or 713.595.8194.
  • May 1 | 12:45 PM-5:30 PM | BlackHorse Golf Club in Cypress (3-5 hour commitment)

 

If you don't see what you are looking for, please contact Sylvia Dauber at srdauber@erjcchouston.org or 713.551.7227.

 

EVENT CALENDAR