About Us

When you step into the Evelyn Rubenstein JCC, you'll find a center filled with remarkable people, dedicated volunteers and a wide-array of year-round programs, activities and special events. At the J, we're committed to enriching the lives of our members and the community. 

Since 1936 the J has been a place where families and individuals come together for friendship, affiliation and socialization in a safe and welcoming environment. Throughout our buildings, you'll find a committed staff working together to provide our members and guests with quality experiences, excellent service and a sense of belonging.

What it Means to be a Member


The mission of the Evelyn Rubenstein Jewish Community Center of Houston is to develop and strengthen Jewish identity, foster Jewish values and enrich the Jewish community and the greater community.

2019-2020 Board of Trustees 

Officers For 1-Year Term Expiring May 2020 

President Senior Vice President  

Lauren Kaufman Blachman

Jeremy Samuels

Vice Presidents    
Elizabeth Cohen

Debbie Diamond

Kenneth Katz

Secretary Treasurer Assistant Treasurer
Diane Lee Kraitman

Gregg Sheena

Eric Cohen

Chief Executive Officer

Executive Committee Appointments

Honorary President
Joel Dinkin

Michelle Fingeret

Debbie Kaplan

Board Term Expiring May 2020

Daniel Barvin
Wendy Bernstein
Rebecca Block
Ben Cowan
Debbie Diamond
Eric Efron
Steven Goodman
Joe Pryzant
Jennifer Haikin Zach

Maida Asofsky
Eric Cohen
Jeryl Golub
Lonny Hoffman
Noah Kruger
Stacey Rose

Lauren Kaufman Blachman
Diane Lee Kraitman
Yael Trusch

Board Term Expiring May 2021

Barb Bratter
Stacey Cook
Mike Durham
Lauren Laechelin
Jodi Rubenstein

Elizabeth Cohen
Daniel Coleman
John Dreyfus
Stefani Golub
Cynthia Block Helstein
Cantor Francyne Davis Jacobs
Barbara Kalmans
Mardi Kunik
Marcy Laviage
Ben Lipson
Jeremy Samuels
Amira Staller

Michelle Fingeret
Erin Johnson
Kenneth Katz
Ron Oppenheimer
Michael Rubenstein
Anat Shaw
Gregg Sheena
Melissa Wolfson
Presidential Appointments    

Debra Dluhy

Leah Gross

Eve Lapin

Board Terms Expiring


Joe Epstein
Arnold Kagan

Benjy Levit
Barbara Shepard

Carly Walker
Executive Staff    
Anita Bormaster
Jason Dobrolecki
Tim Erwin
Teri Greenblatt
Alan Lipman
Alison Sullivan


Evelyn Rubenstein Jewish Community Center of Houston
5601 S. Braeswood • Houston, TX 77096-3907 MAP 
713.729.3200 • FAX: 713.551.7223